banner home lombardo

Attorney
Joseph A. Lombardo

If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI in Voorhees, you may be facing major consequences that can have an impact on your life for years to come. To give yourself the best chance of either having your case dismissed or mitigating the consequences you could face, hire an experienced lawyer who can defend your rights as the case moves through the legal system.

Joseph Lombardo offers years of experience defending clients throughout Voorhees, NJ from DWI charges. The legal experts at the Lombardo Law Group, LLC, are ready and eager to meet with anyone facing these charges in a free and confidential consultation. Get in touch with Voorhees DUI + DWI lawyer Joseph Lombardo and his team to schedule a free consultation today. Call (609) 418-4537 to learn more.

Defining a DWI in Voorhees, New Jersey

In New Jersey, the term the law uses for the act of operating a vehicle while drunk is “driving while intoxicated,” more commonly referred to as a DWI. This charge is typically made against drivers over the age of 21 who drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is above 0.08%. Those who are under 21 may face DWI charges if they operate a vehicle with a BAC that is above 0.01%, while commercial drivers can face DWI charges if they drive with a BAC that is above 0.04%.

Penalties for a DWI Charge in Voorhees

The penalties for a DWI are largely dependent on the driver’s BAC and the number of prior DWI charges that have been made against them. Driving with an open container of alcohol, driving with a suspended license, or endangering a child by driving while drunk with them in the car are all factors that can increase a defendant’s possible penalties.

Drivers should note that although a DWI will never leave a driver’s record, a second offense will be treated as a first offense if more than ten years have elapsed since that first DWI conviction.

First DWI Offense

A first-time DWI offense in Voorhees, NJ carries penalties based on the driver’s BAC level, split into three tiers. Tier I is for drivers that had a BAC of between 0.08% and 0.1% at the time of their arrest; Tier II is for drivers with a BAC of between 0.1% and 0.14%; Tier III is for those with a BAC above 0.14% when they were arrested.

A Tier I offense carries the following penalties:

  • License suspension until an ignition interlock device is installed
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program
  • A fine of between $250 and $400
  • Other fines, including payments to a drunk driving fund, the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, the Motor Vehicle Commission, and the Neighborhood Services Fund

A Tier II offense carries the following penalties:

  • License suspension until an ignition interlock device is installed
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program
  • A fine of between $300 and $500
  • Mandatory contributions to a drunk driving fund, the Victims of Crime Compensation Office, the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, the Motor Vehicle Commission, and the Neighborhood Services Fund

A Tier III offense carries the following penalties:

  • License suspension for 4 to 6 months
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program
  • A fine of between $300 and $500
  • Larger payments to the organizations listed above

Second DWI Offense

A driver’s second DWI offense carries more severe penalties, which include:

  • Between 1 year and 2 years of license suspension
  • Use of an ignition interlock device for up to four years following license restoration
  • Between 48 hours and 90 days of jail time
  • Participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program
  • 30 days of community service
  • A fine of between $500 and $1,000
  • Larger payments to the organizations listed above

Third DWI Offense

Those who drive while intoxicated for a third time can expect to face these penalties:

  • Up to 8 years of license suspension
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device for up to four years following license restoration
  • Up to 180 days of jail time
  • Participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program
  • 90 days of community service
  • A $1,000 fine
  • Even larger payments to the organizations listed under the above offenses

How a Voorhees DUI + DWI Lawyer Can Help with Your Case

An attorney can help people who are facing DWI charges by making sure that the charges are valid. An experienced Voorhees DUI + DWI lawyer can determine whether the evidence being used against you was gathered properly; this may mean examining the validity of the breathalyzer test or field sobriety test used to determine your BAC or ensuring that police officers respected your rights during your arrest. An attorney can also help you with your case by crafting a strong defense that can prove your innocence.

Get in Touch with a Voorhees, NJ DUI + DWI Lawyer Today

If you or someone close to you is currently dealing with DUI or DWI charges in Voorhees, New Jersey, contact a lawyer to help with the case as soon as possible. The fate of your case depends on strong, skilled legal representation. Contact Voorhees DUI + DWI lawyer Joseph Lombardo as soon as possible and schedule a free, private consultation to discuss your DWI charges; call (609) 418-4537 today.

  • (609) 418-4537

    Get your free consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Case Results

The Personal Injury Trial attorneys of Lombardo Law Group, LLC have recovered 10s of Millions for accident victims over their careers

See More Results

Client Testimonials

“Joe is a top-notch attorney who zealously represents his clients with intelligence, compassion and integrity. A great resource and team player, I wholeheartedly recommend Joe Lombardo.” Joseph U.