Joseph A. Lombardo
There are several traffic offenses that you can be written for the different levels of driving with suspended license infractions in Atlantic City, New Jersey. The jail sentences handed down in convictions for driving with revoked driving privileges are in addition to any jail sentence that a driver receives as part of any other criminal or traffic convictions related to the stop in which they are issued the ticket. You can also be found guilty of a crime if you knowingly and willingly allow someone whom you know does not have valid driving privileges to operate your vehicle.
If you received a traffic ticket or other penalties for driving while your license was suspended, contact Atlantic City driving with a suspended license attorney Joseph Lombardo for a free consultation today at (609) 418-4537.
Tickets for Driving with a Suspended License in Atlantic City, NJ
Atlantic City lawyer for suspended license driving Joseph Lombardo provides a short description of the levels of the infraction and associated fines and possible jail time:
- If it is your first offense: A driver can face a suspension of an additional six months and a fine of $500.
- If it is your second offense: A driver can face an additional six months onto your suspension as well as a fine of $750 and no more than five days in jail.
- If it is your third offense: A driver can face an additional six months onto the existing suspension as well as a fine of $1,000 and up to 10 days in jail.
Additional Penalties for Suspended License Driving
Additional penalties can be applied to other offenses that are committed while operating a vehicle without a license. These penalties can include:
- If you are stopped for a DUI while operating a vehicle while unlicensed, you can face an additional fine of $500 and face a suspension of an additional period of 1-2 years. You can also also be imprisoned for 10-90 days in addition to additional sentences.
- If you are pulled over for lack of insurance while unlicensed, you can face an additional 1-2 year suspension, a fine of $500, and a jail sentence of between 1-90 days.
- If you have an accident while under suspension, and someone is injured, you can face an additional penalty of (no less than) 45-180 days in jail.
- If you get pulled over in a school zone while operating a vehicle on a license suspension, you will face an additional 1-2 year suspension, as well as being fined $500, and 60-90 days in jail for a first offense, 120-150 days for a second offense, and 180 days for a third offense.
What Happens If I Get a Ticket for Driving with a Suspended License Out of State?
New Jersey employs reciprocity of driving privileges with other states. The law clearly says that if a driver’s privileges have been revoked in another state, reciprocity of privileges in the Garden State no longer exists.
Atlantic City, New Jersey Lawyer for Driving with a Suspended License
If you have received a ticket for driving with a suspended license in Atlantic City or a related, additional criminal traffic charge, the penalties of a conviction can be steep. As a former Municipal Court Prosecutor, Joseph Lombardo can use his prosecutorial experience to present the best possible case in your defense. There are defenses available, and Atlantic City suspended license defense attorney Lombardo will challenge evidence and the circumstances of your being stopped to work to have the charges against you dismissed or lessened. Contact him today at (609) 418-4537.
The Personal Injury Trial attorneys of Lombardo Law Group, LLC have recovered 10s of Millions for accident victims over their careers
“Joe is a top-notch attorney who zealously represents his clients with intelligence, compassion and integrity. A great resource and team player, I wholeheartedly recommend Joe Lombardo.”