Joseph A. Lombardo
Don’t let a simple traffic ticket negatively impact your life. A traffic ticket that is not dealt with properly can lead to large fines, the suspension of your driver’s license, and even jail time in some cases. Facing a traffic ticket head-on is the best way to prevent dire consequences that can affect your future.
If you have been issued a traffic ticket in the state of New Jersey, it is advisable for you to seek the help of an experienced traffic ticket lawyer. Joseph Lombardo is available to help all New Jersey residents who have been issued traffic tickets. Get in touch with the Lombardo Law Group, LLC, as soon as you get a traffic ticket to set up your free and confidential consultation. Call (609) 318-6196 today.
Traffic Tickets and Penalties in New Jersey
There are many violations that can result in traffic tickets in the State of New Jersey. The following are the most common:
- Speeding – Speeding tickets are issued according to the number of miles per hour above the speed limit at which the offender is caught driving. Those who drive between 1 and 14 mph above the speed limit are issued the least severe ticket, which results in the addition of two points to their license. Driving between 15 and 29 mph above the speed limit represents another tier and can result in the addition of four points to your license. Finally, drivers that travel at a speed that is more than 30 mph above the speed limit will have five points added to their license. Speeding fines can be between $85 and $260.
- Failure to Observe a Traffic Signal or Red-Light Violation – This offense can result in the addition of two points to the offender’s license, as well as a fine that ranges between $50 and $200.
- Distracted Driving – Points for using a cell phone while driving are issued on the third offense; prior offenses result in fines that range from $200 to $600.
- Reckless Driving – This offense results in the addition of 5 points to the offender’s license and a fine of between $50 and $500.
- Driving While Intoxicated (DUI/DWI) – Points assigned to a license as a result of a DUI vary, though most DUI charges result in the loss of a license. Driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated can result in a fine of up to $1,000.
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident – If there is an injury connected to the accident, a driver that leaves the scene will have 8 points added to their license; if there is no injury, then a driver who leaves the scene will have 2 points added to their license. Fines vary.
- Improper Passing of a School Bus – Five points will be added to the license of any driver that commits this offense; fines fall within the range of $100 to $250.
- Racing on a Highway – This is one of the most serious traffic violations in New Jersey; it results in the addition of 5 points to the offender’s license and a fine of between $25 and $100.
- Careless Driving – Careless driving in New Jersey will result in the addition of 2 points to the driver’s license, as well as a fine of $85; the fine will be $140 if the offense occurs in a safety corridor, a construction zone, or a 65-mile-per-hour area.
Removing Points from Your License in NJ
It is possible for drivers who have committed traffic offenses to remove points from their license by either taking a class or refraining from committing any more traffic offenses for a certain period of time.
If drivers participate in a driver improvement program (DIP), they will have three points removed from their license. This program teaches students how to create safe conditions for all drivers on the road while driving. Students that participate in the driver improvement program must pay an administrative fee of $75.
If a driver goes a year without committing any more traffic offenses, they will have three points removed from their license. Three more points will be removed for every additional year that passes without any traffic offenses.
Receiving a Traffic Violation Ticket as a Nonresident of New Jersey
Drivers that are not residents of New Jersey may still face consequences for committing traffic offenses in the Garden State. Most states — besides Wisconsin, Oregon, Montana, Michigan, California, and Alaska — have enacted reciprocal exchange laws. These laws mean that nonresidents of a state will have to fulfill the terms of their citation in the state that they are a resident of. In these cases, they will likely not have to appear in court in New Jersey; a traffic defense lawyer will appear in their place.
While reciprocal exchange laws mean that nonresidents of New Jersey face consequences for violations that happen in New Jersey, it also means that they are afforded the same rights, privileges, and expectations of due process.
If a resident of New Jersey commits a traffic offense in another state that participates in reciprocal exchange laws, they will have two points added to their license, regardless of the violation.
Attorney Available for Traffic Ticket Cases in New Jersey
Seek the assistance of an attorney immediately if you have been issued a traffic ticket in the State of New Jersey. Joseph Lombardo has been providing legal assistance to people that are dealing with traffic tickets. Get in touch with the Lombardo Law Group, LLC, as soon as possible to schedule a free and confidential consultation. Call (609) 318-6196 today.
The Personal Injury Trial attorneys of Lombardo Law Group, LLC have recovered 10s of Millions for accident victims over their careers
“Joe is a top-notch attorney who zealously represents his clients with intelligence, compassion and integrity. A great resource and team player, I wholeheartedly recommend Joe Lombardo.”