Did You Receive a DUI in Hammonton, NJ? Find a DUI Lawyer
Being stopped and charged with a DUI can be an overwhelming feeling. In many ways it can seem like its you versus the rest of the world. You might have a list of worries concerning jail time, expensive fines or long term consequences resulting from a conviction on a permanent record. If there are associated crimes that you have been charged with in addition to driving under the influence, the penalties and outcome of your case can often be lessened by seeking the counsel of an experienced attorney.
What can happen if you receive a DUI
In New Jersey, the terms “drunk driving”, “driving while intoxicated” (DWI) and “driving under the influence” (DUI) are the same. The laws and sentencing guidelines in New Jersey concerning individuals convicted of a DUI can be complicated, with many other laws coming into play depending on other situations that may be present. The State of New Jersey is notoriously tough on DWIs. For instance, some states allow what is called a “work program” allowing a limited driving license after a conviction. New Jersey does not. A conviction for DWI will typically result in a mandatory loss of a license. Therefore, it is more important in New Jersey than most places to seek the advice of an attorney on how to ensure your rights are protected.
A conviction can result in a fine ranging from $200 to $400 for a first offense. This also results in a 3-12 month loss of license. One of the untold aspects of being convicted for a first offense driving under the influence is that is puts you down a path where it is easy to be subsequently stopped and charged with additional charges in a certain time frame from the first offense. The penalties for these second offenses such as driving with a suspended license from a DUI or even receiving a second DUI, can be very severe.
The punishment for second and third offenses get progressively more severe, with a second offense resulting in doubled fines, up to 90 days in county jail, a 2 year loss of you license. A third offense nets 180 days in county jail, 30 days community service, and a 10 year loss of license. If you are charged with a second offense within 60 days of your first offense, the penalties are even more severe, and can include significant jail time and a $10,000 fine.
If you have recieved a DUI in Hammonton, NJ, contact us today
If you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence, contact us today. We can step in immediately to challenge evidence, ensure that the circumstances surrounding your stop and arrest were legal, and fight to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed. The Law Offices of Joseph Lombardo represents individuals charged with DWI in Hammonton, as well as every other township and county in Southern New Jersey. Joseph Lombardo is a member of The National Association of Personal Injury Lawyers (NAPIL), and has been representing individuals charged with DUI and in personal injury matters in Southern New Jersey since 1993. Contact us today to set up a free, initial consultation.