I’ve Received a DUI in New Jersey, What Can Happen to Me?

The State of Jersey has taken a strong stance against driving under the influence (DUI).   Even a first time DUI offense can carry severe penalties and fines.  A DUI charge can even result in restrictions on your liberty.  For a first time offense, if your BAC is 0.10% or greater there are mandatory penalties including:

  • Jail for up to 30 days
  • License will be suspended for 7 months to 1 year.
  • Twelve to forty-eight hours of education in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.

Additionally, numerous fines and surcharges are mandatory. These include:

  • $1000 per a year surcharge for three years
  • $300 to $500 fine,
  • $230 fee to attend an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center,
  • $100 to the drunk driving fund,
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood services Fund.

Many people rely on being able to drive to get to work and live their everyday lives.  The loss of license can often lead to severe financial hardship and a loss of self-sufficiency and independence.

What should I do?

The first thing you should do is to get help from an expert, experienced DUI attorney who will stand up for your rights.  Your attorney will ensure that any mistakes or errors by the State are identified.  Your attorney will also ensure that the State proves every element and meets every burden it is required to.  By pointing out weaknesses in the case, your attorney may be able to reduce or eliminate the charges against you.

Being charged with DUI in New Jersey is a serious matter.  The penalties for DUI offenses are severe to reflect the seriousness of the charge.  You don’t have to go through this alone.  Contact an expert New Jersey DUI attorney today and protect yourself.

Is there anything else I should be aware of?

It is especially important to have an attorney fighting for you because repeated DUI offenses carry even higher penalties.  If your license is suspended and you are caught driving your license will then be suspended for an additional one to two years.  On top of that you could face a $500 fine, a $250 per a year surcharge for three years, and a prison term of ten to ninety days.

If you are arrested for DUI in New Jersey

Joseph Lombardo is an experienced DWI defense attorney who represents clients across Southern New Jersey.  Joseph Lombardo previously served as Prosecutor and can put his prosecutorial experience to work in the defense of your DUI/DWI charge.  If you have been charged with DUI, call The Law Offices of Joseph Lombardo today.

DUIclickthrough

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>